Winster Parish Council

Serving the people of Winster

Clerk RFO: Rob Greatorex
Ashton House, West Bank
Winster, Matlock, Derbyshire

Tel: 01629 650954

Who we are & what we do

Winster Parish Council consists of 8 Councillors who serve for a four year term ending in 2019. All Councillors are voluntary.

The Parish Office is located at Ashton House, West Bank, Winster, Matlock, Derbyshire DE4 2DQ.

Council Meetings are usually held on the first Monday of every month (except on Bank Holidays) in the Jubilee Room beneath the Burton Institute, West Bank, Winster. See the diary of meetings for more information.

For further information relating to the services offered by the Parish Council please contact the Clerk & RFO who will be happy to give advice and assistance.

Parish Council Elections

The next Parish Council Elections will be held 2nd May 2019.

Thinking of Becoming a Parish Councillor?

What are local councils?

There are over 9,000 parish, town, community and neighbourhood councils (local councils) representing around 16 million people across England and they form the most local level of government. Each year a sum of money is raised locally called a 'precept' is collected through your council tax. The money is invested back into your local neighbourhood by your local council to improve facilities and services for you and your neighbours. Many local councils also supplement the money collected locally through applications to grant and fund providers securing further resources to invest in the community. It is your local councillors representing the aspirations of the community who will decide how to spend this money.

Why become a parish councillor?

By becoming a parish councillor you become someone your community will look to for help, guidance and support - a community leader with the power to influence decisions for the benefit of the people you serve. Seeing your community change for the better, as a result of decisions you have helped make, is something that can give you a sense of achievement and pride.

How much time does it take up?

Winster Parish Council meets on a monthly cycle, to which members of the public are also invited. Meetings usually last no more than two hours, depending on what business has to be transacted. Parish Councillors may also be required to attend committee meetings and also represent the council on outside bodies within the parish – Burton Institute Management Committee and The Heathcote Charity are two examples.

Occasionally councillors are asked to spare time during the day for site meetings for example with the highways or planning department.

What decisions do parish councils make?

The Parish Council has an overall responsibility for the well being of your local neighbourhood. The work of the Authority falls into three main categories: representing the local community, delivering services to meet local needs and striving to improve the quality of life – in the local area.

Parish Councils may provide, maintain or contribute to the following services: allotments, bus shelters, litter bins, car parks, parks and open spaces, planning, public toilets, street cleaning; and many more!

How long does a parish councillor serve for?

Once elected, parish councillors sit on the council for a maximum of four years. If they then want to stay in the post they can stand for re-election. Before a member can take up office he or she must, sign a declaration of acceptance of office and register their interests in the authority's register of members' interests.

Legal Requirements

To be qualified to become a candidate for election as a Parish Councillor, you must be:

  • 18 years of age or over at the date of nomination
  • a commonwealth citizen, a citizen of the Republic of Ireland or a citizen of another Member State of the European Union,
  • and be registered to vote the parish you seek to represent
  • or have resided in the Parish or within 3 miles (4.8km) of it during the previous 12 months
  • or have lived, worked or occupied land as an owner or tenant within the Parish for the previous 12 months

You cannot stand as a candidate if

  • you are bankrupt or
  • if you have been sentenced to imprisonment of 3 months in the last 5 years

(Please Note that the above is only a general statement of the qualifications and disqualifications for holding office and you are advised to check the details further. These can be found printed in full on the Consent to Nomination form)

Candidate Briefings

Derbyshire Dales District Council has arranged a briefing for prospective candidates at Matlock Town Hall at 6.00pm on Tuesday 19 February 2019. At the briefing an outline of what the role entails and the nomination process.

There will be a further briefing for confirmed candidates on Tuesday 9 April 2019, also at Matlock Town Hall at 6.00pm. On this occasion some election do's and don'ts will be explained and attendees will be provided with details of the counting arrangements. All confirmed candidates and agents (where appropriate) are invited.


The Returning Officer will accept nominations at Matlock Town Hall

18 March – 3 April (between 10am and 4pm)

At the Agricultural Business Centre Bakewell

Friday 22 March – 2pm – 4pm

Monday 25 March – 10am – 12 noon

At Ashbourne Town Hall

Friday 22 March – 10 am – 12 noon

Monday 25 March – 2pm – 4pm

Whilst not mandatory, candidates are strongly advised to make an appointment during the above times, by calling 01629 761335, to avoid delay and to allow the Returning Officer and her staff to carry out an informal check of the nomination so that any errors or omissions can be rectified prior to formal submission.


The further information, nomination pack and set of forms is now available to view and download from Derbyshire Dales District Council web site at


Our councillors are elected or co-opted. If you would like to become a councillor or find out more about what they do then please contact the Clerk.

Members Code of Conduct

  • Code of Conduct (PDF, 334 Kb)

    Members Code of Conduct prepared in accordance with provisions of the Localism Act.


Our committees have specific tasks and can have delegated powers.

Representative's to Village Organisations

The Parish Council is represented on various village organisations. A list of those organisations and current member representation is as follow:

Burton Institute Management Committee - Cllrs D Crutchley, M Marsden & A Stone.

The Heathcote Charity - Cllrs A Dale & M Marsden.

Winster Church Charities - Cllr B Long.

Winster Playing Fields Association - Cllr S Wood.

Winster Pond & Orchard Group - Cllr A Cooper.

Winster Parish Council Standing Orders

  • Standing Orders (PDF, 541 Kb)

    Adopted at the Annual Meeting of the Council 8th May 2018, minute number 101/18.

Our Staff

Rob Greatorex

Clerk & Responsible Financial Officer

01629 650954

Fred Purslow

Parish Warden